Chocolate Tart

I have to be honest – I was never that crazy about chocolate before I moved to Paris. I know, what is WRONG with me?! I think it is because I wasn’t exposed to much chocolate other than Hershey bars and the garnish on Starbucks Frappucinos…not the best stuff. My dad loved to give my mom a box of Sees candy (soft-centers only!) for Valentine’s Day and Christmas, and that was the only time I couldn’t resist eating chocolate.

crumbs!

crumbs!

After entering a world of Angelina’s, aisles of chocolate bars at the grocery stores, chocolateries, and buckets of mousse, I will never look back. OMG CHOCOLATE IS SO GOOD. I am a convert.

crumbs + butter, even better

crumbs + butter, even better

A few weeks ago I met a girl at a party who brought an amazing chocolate tart. I didn’t know until the end of the night that she is the author of one of the blogs I read! Anyways, I’ve been craving that tart ever since and since I haven’t gotten around to asking her for a specific recipe I just made my own and adapted it to the weird-sized pan I have.

Hello there. By the way the weather in Paris is HORRENDOUS right now

Hello there. By the way the weather in Paris is HORRENDOUS right now

Last weekend I had a study sleepover with some classmates to study for our final exam. One of these girls is leaving Paris so this was sort of a goodbye see you later gift/fancy study snack in one. That’s how I roll… 🙂

glossy glossy

glossy glossy

Chocolate Tart
adapted from Ready for Dessert

The filling makes a great ice cream topper too!

Ingredients

-10 chocolate cookies of 3-inch diameter (I used random Leader Price ones), crushed (approx 2 cups of chocolate cookie crumbs)
-50 grams/half a stick of butter, melted and cooled
-3 tbsp of hazelnut or almond meal
-200 grams of bittersweet chocolate
-3/4 cup of cream or half-and-half
-1 egg and 1 egg yolk, whisked in a small bowl
-1/4 cup sugar (optional)

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350°F/180°C. Crush cookies and combine with butter. Press into a pan – mine was a 7×7 inch square pan and I would recommend finding a bigger pan than mine, since the ganache layer was very thick and intense. Sprinkle hazelnut or almond meal evenly across top. Bake 10 minutes. Let cool. Leave the oven on.
In a heatproof bowl set over simmering water or in 10 second intervals in the microwave, melt together the cream and chocolate until combined, smooth, and glossy. Remove from heat and let cool a little. While whisking chocolate, add in eggs slowly. Taste and if mixture isn’t sweet enough to your liking, add the sugar and whisk again.
Pour ganache into prepared tart crust. Bake for 15-20 minutes. Let cool.

Top view of tart

Top view of tart

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Tart

Leave a Reply

