10 Things

I’m in the midst of setting things up for my future – both immediately and farther forward. Exciting things on the horizon include a WWOOF trip in the south of France, a sailing trip off the northern coast of France, travel to London, Barcelona, and eastern Europe, and visits from my parents, cousin, and possibly some friends from home! (That’s if I can save up enough cash, wow.)

I am also applying to graduate school in Paris for fall 2013 and looking into some options in California as well. I am agonizing over the decision of what direction to go in after this summer – it’s a tough choice! After living somewhere for 2 years, it’s hard to pick up and leave. Actually, I’ll be honest, deciding how long to stay has been a decision that has plagued me since I arrived. My anxiety of “where to live, what to do” comes and goes but sometimes I wonder if I’ll ever be 100% happy where I am? Luckily I have some time until I have to make a final decision, so until then, I’m focusing on the fun stuff and enjoying myself!

Here’s what I’m loving lately…

1. Watching the snow melt (ok this was like a month ago but it’s still cool!)

IMG_2711

2. Radishes as a snack

crunchy goodness

crunchy goodness

3. A fun party where I learned, and then forgot, some Portuguese. I do remember how to say cheers (saúde!) – an important word to know in any language, I say.

My friend Kat and I

My friend Kat and I

4. I am a choir dork 4 lyfe

PCS for Paris Choral Society

PCS for Paris Choral Society

5. Making a cake, forgetting the flour, covering the mistake in ganache. My tip for this cake, other than DON’T FORGET THE FLOUR, is to whip the egg whites when they are truly at room temperature. Mine whipped up in like one minute, it was amazing.

Ganache fixes all mistakes, right?

Ganache fixes all mistakes, right?

6. Velib!!! I feel like SUCH a baller biking around Paris. I biked home from class the other day – from St. Michel, past Notre Dame, all the way down Rue de Rivoli past the Louvre, through Place de la Concorde (still trying to figure out how to get through there without dying or having to walk my bike through crosswalks) and up the Champs-Élysées to chez moi. I don’t think I’ll ever have a commute like this again.

7. Been listening to a new-to-me fun French artist, discovered through an American friend.

8. Instead of using bookmarks on my browser, I started using Feedly to organize all my online reads. I’m into it! You can organize the sources you read in many different ways and it keeps all my mindless internet reading in one place so I can choose when to zone out online.

9. My old furniture was replaced with shiny new Ikea stuff! In case you are curious about what my apartment looks like, here are some pics. Sorry it’s not neater. 🙂

Entry

Entry

Bed

Bed

Table and new chairs

Table and new chairs

Kitchen area

Kitchen area

Hi!

Hi!

10. I had the pleasure of going to a gathering at a friend’s apartment in Montrouge, a city right outside Paris. They just opened up a new metro stop on the line 4 and I was SO excited to check it out! It’s so cool to imagine people in 100 years feeling about the Montrouge stop the way I feel about the older metro stations in Paris proper. Here are some pictures I took (I’m such a dork):

Bright and shiny

Bright and shiny

It's so clean and bright!

It’s so clean and bright!

So excited to be in a new metro station!

So excited to be in a new metro station!

Clean white bench on a clean street

Clean white bench on a clean street

I become accustomed to the dirt, grime, and noise in Paris. Just beyond the Rue Périphérique, life is instantly calm and quiet. It’s nice to be in a big exciting city, but I’m happy to get out every once in awhile.

7 thoughts on “10 Things

  1. Another great diary entry, with fantastic pictures. I’ll be waiting excitedly to see pictures from the WOOF farm, Barcelona, etc., etc.

  2. Ahh, so good to read about what’s happening in ta vie, ma cherie 🙂 I LOVE Yelle, listened to her so much last semester because it seemed appropriate haha. Your life sounds so exciting and adventurous! This definitely made me miss Paris, but I think I shall return someday. I want to stay up-to-date on your plans so our paths can cross sometime in the not-so-distant future 🙂 Bise!

Leave a Reply

