Pan-Fried Corn

Get in my tummy

This dish was created mostly by my bestie. A few weeks ago, I went over to her apartment for a calm weeknight dinner. We made avocado pesto on orecchiette with peas, and this corn dish. I was making the pesto so I didn’t taste the corn until we sat down – and it blew my mind! So flavorful, so crunchy, so sweet! I had seconds, and thirds.

I made it for my parents last week with the addition of bacon, and they loved it too. So, with or without bacon, this is a winner!

I am nearing the end of my 2 month summer at home in Oakland. I am an emotional wreck, to say the least. The good news is that my friends and family are all still here, doing their thang. My fear that I would come back and not know anyone and no one would know me did not come true. But, that’s also the bad news. Because, now I’m leaving again and it will be just as painful as last time. Why do I do this to myself?

All I can do is stay present, enjoy life today, and try not to worry about the future too much. And eat corn!

Pan-Fried Corn

Ingredients

3-4 slices bacon (optional)
3-4 large ears of corn, shucked
1 small red pepper, diced
1/4 red onion, diced
a handful of cilantro leaves, rinsed and minced
the juice of 1-2 limes
salt and pepper to taste

Instructions

Cook bacon in a large skillet until crispy.
Remove from pan and drain on a plate lined with paper towels.
Once cool enough to handle, crumble or chop the bacon into corn kernel-sized pieces and reserve on a plate.
Pour off some of the bacon grease and return skillet to medium-high heat.
(If you aren’t using bacon, start here and use 1 tbsp olive oil instead.)

Onions, peppers, cilantro, and bacon


Add the onions and cook until starting to brown.
Add corn and red pepper and cook until browned.

Once everything is cooked through and has lots of color, remove from heat.
Stir in crumbled bacon and cilantro.
Squeeze lime juice over corn to taste.
Add salt and pepper to taste.

Fiesta!

One thought on “Pan-Fried Corn

  1. Pingback: Southern Field Peas O’Brien « Homemaker Chic

Leave a Reply

