Quick Applesauce

I had a lovely weekend! On Friday night, I went to a bbq with my French friends. The highlight of the evening for me was the grilled Camembert and brie with shallots! OMG. I LOVE FRANCE.

Wrap cheese in foil and place on grill for 20 minutes until gooey and amazing.

On Saturday, my friend Phoebe and I picnic-ed in Parc Monceau. The sun was out, and we spent hours chatting and trying to turn our ghost-white legs back to a normal color. After, we went to my newest obsession, MyBerry, for nonfat froyo. It’s like PinkBerry in the US!

Sunday afternoon, I met up with my friend Omid and a bunch of his friends at Buttes Chaumont. We had some wine and spent the evening relaxing in the sun, and later at the bar located inside the park.

Buttes Chaumont

The bar was hoppin’!

I must have eaten something bad, because I spent all of Monday lying in bed unable to move, except to run to the toilet and toss my cookies (trying not to be graphic so I will use that food-related euphemism!). I am just happy I had such a good weekend because yesterday was anything but. Even sips of water made my stomach freak out. 😦

This morning I woke up feeling better, although still not 100%. I refuse to leave my apartment until I have work later because the idea of walking up the seven flights makes me want to hurl again – definitely don’t have the energy for that! Luckily, I had an apple on hand, so I made some homemade “applesauce” that was actually pretty good! I would even make it again to serve over vanilla ice cream. So, I guess something good came out of my sickness. Here you go:

Quick “Applesauce”

Serves 1

Peel and chop one apple, any variety, into bite-sized pieces. Place in a microwave-safe bowl. Sprinkle 1/2 tbsp sugar, a dash of cinnamon, and 1 tbsp of water on the apples and stir together. Microwave for 1 minute. Stir. Microwave for 1 more minute. Serve, and hope some color comes back into your zombie face.

One day I’ll be able to peel them all in one string like my mom




Warm, soft, comforting, and easy on the tummy!

Leave a Reply

