Banana Bread au Régime

Régime=diet

Banana Bread

As a single eater, I should have known better than to get a bunch of FIVE bananas. After eating two of them, the remaining three began to brown. The sight of brown bananas makes me think of only one thing – banana bread! If you bake, you know that bananas with spots on them are great for making bread or cake because they are soft and easier to mash.

So much baked-good potential!

I usually use either my mom’s recipe or this one from Smitten Kitchen, but because we are entering spring (aka I can’t hide under 7 shirts, tights AND jeans, and a giant coat anymore) I decided to try out this recipe.

I, as well as Edgar and Myrtille, call it a winner! It’s the perfect thing to make if you have browning bananas, want something homemade, but don’t want to go to some crazy cardiojazzstripperpole class to make up for it! I will say, it’s slightly…plain tasting. This could be remedied by adding some more spices, chocolate chips (although that would negate the régime part of the equation), or nuts (if you are a weirdo and like nuts in your baked goods, ew). I experimented with adding some fig jam swirled into the top on one part of the bread. This enhanced the flavor, although you could totally just put the jam on a slice after it’s baked. I would love to try to make this in muffin form with halved figs nestled on the top, but I didn’t have figs or a muffin pan (although I do have a muffin top) – that would be a project for another lifetime, when I actually have a kitchen counter/oven/tools of my own.

Fig Jam


Banana Bread au Régime

adapted from Joy the Baker’s Low Fat Oatmeal Banana Bread

Ingredients

– 1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
– 1/2 cup sugar [didn’t have brown sugar, use it instead of white if you have it]
– 1/2 tsp salt
– 1/2 tsp baking soda
– 1/4 tsp baking powder
– 1/2 tsp cinnamon
– 1 tbsp canola oil [I was low on oil so I only put 1 tbsp, orig. recipe calls for 3. Mine was fine but a tad dry (easily remedied with peanut butter or butter when eating), so if you want it more moist add a few tbsps of oil]
– 1 large egg, beaten
– 2 medium egg whites, beaten
– 3 large bananas, ripe
– 1 cup uncooked old fashioned oats
– a few tbsps of fig jam, or other fancy jam

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease a loaf pan and set aside. In a large bowl, stir together all the dry ingredients.

Flour, sugar, bp, bs, salt, cinnamon, oats

In a smaller bowl, mash bananas with a fork. Add oil and the whole egg and mix thoroughly.

Bananas, egg, oil

Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix well into a thick batter.

Exciting wet ingred. into dry ingred. photo

Beat the egg whites with a hand mixer or a stand mixer until medium stiff peaks form. [It takes longer than you think. The white will start out transparent and gradually become more opaque, glossy, and they will increase in their total size. You will be able to see the tracks made by the beaters, and when you lift them you will see a little dollop that stays in place attached to the beater.] Fold the egg whites into the batter. *Optional: Place a few dollops of jam on top of the batter and swirl with a knife.

Start out with egg whites...

Almost there...

There we go!

Pour batter into pan and bake until top of loaf is firm to touch, 45 to 50 minutes. Remove from oven and cool, then flip out of the pan onto a wire rack. Slice and serve!

Enjoy with crême Chantilly and new spring flowers

3 thoughts on “Banana Bread au Régime

  1. Maddy, I might actually try this!! As you know, I don’t really bake, but my family left me with 7 large bananas that I will never eat in time! I am so excited to try this. As always, your blog made me smile. 🙂
    Miss you!!
    Dana

Leave a Reply

