Arugula Salad with Honey Dressing

In my neighborhood, we have a wonderful market every Sunday, Tuesday, and Friday. I have started going there almost every time it’s open, because it’s so fabulous. You can get wonderful produce, meat, eggs, cheese, bread, spices, dried fruit, olives, or even clothing, jewelry, and antique books! I love the farmer’s markets in the US too, but one thing that is infinitely better here is the fromage.

Myrtille keeps telling me I need to go to this one fromagerie next to the market. Every week when she asks me about it, I keep saying, no I haven’t been yet. I finally confessed that I was afraid of saying the wrong thing and looking stupid, and she said, no, just point and say a little or a lot, and they will take it from there. Well, she was right – nothing to be afraid of! On Sunday, I finally conquered my fear of making a cheese-ordering faux-pas and got in the long, snaking line. It was super busy and there wasn’t much time for deliberation, so I simply ordered some Roquefort, as I know I love blue cheese. It was creamy but crumbly, full of creepy fuzzy blue mold, and just oh-so-tasty! I could have eaten it by itself, but instead I made this salad.

I randomly added honey to my dressing and it made the salad special enough to post here. It’s my new obsession!

It's always dark here so there is horrible lighting in the photo sorry!

Arugula Salad with Honey Dressing

Combine equal parts oil (I used olive), vinegar (I used apple cider), and honey in the bowl you will toss the salad in. Sprinkle salt to taste. Whisk the dressing using whatever utensil you have on hand. Add a handful or two of rinsed and dried arugula and toss until well-coated in the dressing. Sprinkle Rocquefort or other blue cheese and dried cranberries on top. Toasted walnuts or hazelnuts would be a nice addition too. ❤

One thought on “Arugula Salad with Honey Dressing

Leave a Reply

