Pear Crisp

Pear Crisp

I made this for the first time 2 years ago for Christmas. It was a hit, but for some reason I haven’t made it since. I like to bake on Fridays because I only teach one class in the morning and I have the whole day free. When I saw pears at the market near my school, this recipe came to mind and I had to make it! However, because I was working from memory, I got oats instead of pecans for the topping. It worked just as well, so if you are serving someone with a nut allergy it’s a good substitution.

Naked pears

I shared the crisp (or crumble, said in a French accent, as they called it) with my family here; happily, it went over better than the last time I served an American-style dessert to French people. However, Myrtille did mention that she makes a similar crumble, but with chocolate chips added in. French people sure love their chocolate!

I could just eat this part by itself!

Next time, I will be trying it with browned butter mixed into the topping (just cook the butter in a saucepan on medium heat until little brown specks form and it starts smelling nutty and heavenly, and cook until it is dark brown)! I think browned butter would accompany the pear and cinnamon flavors nicely.

Pear Crisp
adapted from PW

Ingredients

-4 or 5 large pears
-2/3 cups sugar
-1/4 teaspoon salt
-1-1/2 cup flour
-1/3 cup sugar
-1/3 cup brown sugar
-1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
-1/2 cup pecans, very finely chopped, or 1/2 cup oats
-1 stick butter, melted

Instructions

*Use ripe pears for better flavor and unripe pears for ease of peeling and dicing.

Peel and dice the pears into 1 inch pieces.

Dice

Waiting for a sugar bath

Sprinkle 2/3 cups sugar and 1/4 teaspoon salt over the pears in a bowl. Stir and set aside.

In a separate bowl, stir together flour, sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon, and pecans or oats.

Topping ingredients

Pour butter on top and mix with a fork.

Mmm...butter...

Pour pears into a baking dish and sprinkle crumb topping on top.

Bake at 350 degrees F or 175 degrees C for 30 minutes.  Move pan to top rack of oven and bake for 10 more minutes, or until golden brown.

I should have left it a bit longer to bake but I really wanted to taste it!

One thought on “Pear Crisp

  1. I would love some, please! It looks so good. Like crisps made with oats, definitely. Pears cook nicely. it is so hard to find ripe pears to eat, except at farmers markets, and for us working girls, it’s sometimes hard to get to them! So, cooking pears often ends up being the best tasting pear experience!

Leave a Reply

