Pine Nut Raspberry Tart

I have been way behind on this blog because I have been working so many extra hours lately. I blinked, and July was gone! I’m trying not to complain too much, because the reason I needed to work so much is that I am moving to Paris in a month!

I will be living in Paris and teaching English at a school in Levallois-Perret, which is four miles north of the center of Paris. This is a long-time dream come true, and I am ecstatic!

I will continue to update my blog periodically while I am gone. I haven’t nailed down where I am living yet, so I might not have access to a kitchen. I will most definitely be eating a lot of delicious food which I will share on here, so you can live vicariously through me. 🙂 Also, if you want to receive occasional email updates from me about my adventures in France, send me your email address.

Now, on to this amazing tart. I never throw tea-parties, but this tart makes me want to start doing so because it would be such a great dessert for that kind of atmosphere. It was relatively easy to make (as long as you have a food processor and a tart pan), it looked so beautiful and fancy, and it had a wonderful flavor and texture. It’s also nice because it’s a different flavor than your standard custard tart with glazed fruit on top (although I must admit, I will never turn down a slice of that!) – the flavors are more unique. The pine nuts add an earthy, nutty quality, and raspberries and sugar add a great balance of tart and sweet. Make this for your next dinner party!

*The only difficulty with this recipe is finding almond paste. I found a huge container at Farmer Joe’s, but I’m sure they carry it at places like Whole Foods, Berkeley Bowl, or specialty baking stores.

Pine Nut Raspberry Tart

adapted from 365 Great Cakes and Pies

Tart Shell:

Ingredients

-10 tablespoons butter, softened
-1/4 cup plus 2 tbsp powdered sugar
-1 tsp vanilla
-1/2 tsp lemon zest
-1 1/3 cups flour

Instructions

1. Preheat oven to 350. In a large bowl, beat together butter, powdered sugar, vanilla, and lemon zest with a mixer on medium until light and fluffy. Gradually add flour, beating until well combined.
2. Flour fingers and press dough into a 9-inch tart pan with a removable bottom. Prick the bottom with a fork. Bake for 24-26 minutes, or until golden. Cool completely before adding filling.

Filling:

Ingredients

-1/2 cup pine nuts
-1/3 cup sugar
-5 1/3 tbsp (1/3 cup) butter, softened
-1/4 cup almond paste
-1 large egg
-1 tsp lemon zest
-1/2 tsp vanilla
-1/4 tsp salt
-1 1/2 pints fresh raspberries
-powdered sugar

Instructions

1. Preheat oven to 350. Toast pine nuts until lightly brown and fragrant. Cool completely, then combine with sugar in a food processor and process until finely ground.

2. In a medium bowl, beat butter and almond paste with mixer until light and fluffy.

3. Gradually add pine nut-sugar mixture and beat until well combined. Beat in egg, lemon zest, vanilla, and salt. Spread into cooled tart shell.

4. Bake 25-30 minutes, or until top of filling is golden. Cool on rack.
5. Arrange raspberries on top and sprinkle with powdered sugar. Remove sides of pan and serve.

Leave a Reply

