Mom’s Pancakes

I love pancakes. They remind me of my mom because she made them all the time when I was growing up. She would make them for breakfast on special occasions, or weekends, or even for dinner sometimes! I never order pancakes when I go out for breakfast, because nothing compares to my mom’s recipe. 🙂

Today I took a page out of her book and made it for dinner after my water polo class. I had buttermilk that needed to be used and nothing else in my fridge seemed good, so I went with my craving.

My mom has perfected this recipe so it is as healthy as pancakes can possibly be. She is a bit of a health nut, so careful experimentation over the years (with my family and I as happy pancake-testers) has led to this final draft: half whole wheat flour and half all-purpose flour, with the addition of oats and no butter or lard. Add some fruit and it’s even better for you!

Pancakes

Ingredients:

-1 cup (236 ml) all-purpose flour

-1 cup (236 ml) whole wheat flour

-1 cup (236 ml) oats

-5 tablespoons (75 ml) sugar

-4 1/2 teaspoons (22.5 ml) baking powder

-1/2 teaspoon (0.5 ml) baking soda

-2 eggs

-2.5-2.75 cups (590-649 ml) buttermilk

-6 tablespoons (90 ml) oil

-1 teaspoon (1 ml) vanilla

Directions:

1. Mix the dry ingredients in one bowl and the wet ingredients in another bowl.

2. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients.  Now, this is very important:  do not overmix!  Seriously, make sure that there are still plenty of lumps.  Lumps are great in pancakes – they are what makes the pancakes fluffy!  So, mix until just combined.

3. Next, spray a griddle with cooking spray and turn onto medium-high heat. Use a measuring cup (I used 1/3 cup) to scoop the batter out.  Once they are cooking on the first side, you can add some toppings to the top if you wish!  On one of mine, I tried coconut:

On another one, I tried frozen mixed berries (I was out of fresh):

When you add the berries, make sure you let them thaw a little bit if they are frozen. Also, make sure to push each berry into the pancake with your finger so they don’t fall out when they flip.

On the last one, I put a little cinnamon:

These were all delicious additions!  The cinnamon was the most subtle, and I think the coconut was my favorite because it got all toasty when I flipped it. The nice thing about adding it onto each pancake instead of mixing it into the batter is that you can do multiple different ones, and if you have additional people then everyone is happy!  The possibilities are endless: pecans, chocolate chips, bananas, lemon zest, other berries, etc.

Let the pancakes cook until they have puffed up and have bubbles that have begun to pop.  My batter was thicker since I only had 2 exact cups of buttermilk, but they will look like this:

You can sneak a peek underneath to see if they are ready, but you are only allowed to flip each pancake once.  I don’t know why, but that’s the rule my brother told me when I was little and I’m sticking with it.  🙂  However, the most important rule is the following: do not squish down the pancakes with the spatula once you have flipped them!  Mike always tries to do this and I always yell at him for it.  This is as important and is related to the “don’t overmix” step.  The bubbles that were created by all of that baking soda and baking powder are now doing their magic in the pancake to make it really fluffy.  If you pat down on the pancake, you are popping those bubbles, making for a dense and un-lovely pancake.  So, no squishing!

Once the underside is browned, they’re done!  Time to serve and devour!!

Leave a Reply

