Black Beans

For Father’s Day, my family and I made dinner for my dad at home.  It has finally been warming up around here, and Sunday was no exception!  My mom chose Mexican cuisine as the meal, since my dad will eat anything, and it worked perfectly with the hot weather.  My brother made some delicious margaritas, his girlfriend made some guacamole, my mom made cheese enchiladas with tomatillo sauce, and I made these beans.

I have always had a problem with not eating enough protein.  I’m not a vegetarian, but I don’t eat tons of meat.  I tend to not feel very full after I eat, which leads me to lots of snacking.  This has been a problem for me lately, so I’ve been trying to find more protein-rich dishes like beans.  When my mom told me we were doing Mexican food, I immediately thought of these ingredients and couldn’t wait to invent a recipe.  It got good reviews, so here we go!

Black Beans

Ingredients:

-2 tbsp olive oil

-1 medium yellow onion, diced

-1-2 cloves garlic, minced

-1 small green chile pepper

-1 tbsp ground cumin

-2 cans of black beans

-1 tsp paprika

-salt

-cilantro

Instructions:

1. Start with a yellow onion.

2. Dice it up.

3. Pour a little olive oil into a skillet and turn heat to medium.

4. Add the onions and chopped garlic.  Stir.

5. Chop up some green chile pepper.  Remember to immediately wash your hands with soap and water after handling, because the oil will burn your eyes, mouth, etc!  Add more seeds and membranes for more heat.  I added a lot because my dad likes things spicy!  Add to the pan.

6. Stir these ingredients and let them get fragrant.

7. Add cumin.  Stir.

8. Add 2 cans of black beans, including the liquid.  Stir and let the mixture simmer until the beans are hot.

9. Add paprika and stir.  Add salt to taste. Turn off the heat, cover, and let the beans sit for a few hours.  This will help the flavors develop and penetrate the beans.  When you are ready to serve, simmer a few minutes and garnish with cilantro.

I loved these beans, especially because they were quick and easy to make.  It would be interesting to make these starting with dry beans and see if the flavor is any different.  They were delicious with the enchiladas, and I also had them with rice the next day.  This was a great solution to my “feeling full” problem!

Leave a Reply

