Cupcake Contest!

I participated in a cupcake competition yesterday! I was one of seven bakers to serve my cupcakes to the 100+ judges (anyone who paid $5) in hopes of winning 1st or 2nd place.

The opportunity just sort of fell in my lap. A few weeks ago, my friend Ottilia was trying to find a crafting class on Rock Paper Scissors’ website, and she noticed that they were accepting recipe submissions for a vegan cupcake contest. Coincidentally, I had just adapted a recipe from Two Peas and Their Pod for Rhubarb Apple Bread to be vegan for Mike. The deadline was the next day, so I quickly submitted the recipe.

Fast forward to yesterday, and there I was, walking into Rock Paper Scissors, a very cool art collective (the center of Art Murmur, mentioned in my last post), with 40 cupcakes in some cardboard boxes and very sweaty hands. I was honored that my recipe was chosen, but I felt a little bit out of my league! I didn’t have cupcake carriers, cake displays, or pastry bags to pipe out extra decorations like the other bakers. I didn’t even have decorations! I did have very cute cupcake wrappers, which housed delicious cupcakes inside. 🙂 It ended up being an exhilarating and educational experience. I have served my baked goods to many people, but never in a public space where you are being judged compared to others. This was scary for me, but fun! I would be interested in doing something like this again, now that I know more about the professional baking world!

If you are only planning to bake and share a batch or two of these and not be judged, you will definitely enjoy these. They are fruity, spicy, and not too sweet. They are easy to make. I served them with a burnt sugar glaze, but I like them better plain!

Many thanks to all my friends and family who came out to support me and get their sugar fix for the day!

Rhubarb Apple Cupcakes

adapted from Two Peas and Their Pod

Ingredients:

-1 1/2 cups flour

-1 tsp baking soda

-1/2 tsp salt

-1 tsp cinnamon

-1/4 tsp allspice

-1/4 cup vegetable oil

-1/2 cup applesauce

-1 tsp vanilla

-1/2 cup sugar

-1/4 cup brown sugar

-1 cup chopped rhubarb

-1 cup peeled, chopped Granny Smith apples

1. Preheat oven to 350.

2. Whisk flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and allspice in a bowl. Set aside.

3. Mix oil, applesauce, and vanilla in a large bowl until combined.

4. Add sugars and mix until combined.

5. Add flour mixture and mix until combined.

6. Fold in rhubarb and apples.

7. Pour into loaf pan, large muffin tins, or cupcake pans with liners. Bake 35-40 minutes for bread, 30-35 minutes for muffins, and 25-30 minutes for cupcakes.

Because I am a novice vegan baker, I wasn’t sure how much to fill up the cupcakes.  For the first batch, I did a little experiment:

The ones on the left puffed up the perfect cupcake height, and the ones on the right spread over the edges a little too much.  So, I would recommend filling vegan cupcakes to the brim to ensure the right height!

Leave a Reply

